Autumnal Equinox

Happy Autumn! Welcome to my favorite season.

Image

The yoga instructor that I’ve been practicing with lately always encourages us to set an intention for the class and to dedicate our practice that day to someone or something. While this sounds very lofty, I can assure you my intention and dedication end up being far from it. I usually intend not to have any rests during the class (no matter how many times she has us do down dog!) and my class is usually dedicated to whoever is annoying me the most that day.

Even though I’m not saving the world with my yoga practice (is anyone?), there’s something very nice about starting and ending it clarity and purpose. So, as today is the Autumnal Equinox and the true start of Fall, it seems the perfect time to bring that mindfulness into the rest of my life and set an intention for this season.

For Fall 2013, my intention is to live cleanly and with balance.

Peter and I spent the afternoon cleaning our house from top to bottom (boy did it need it!). This evening, I planned for some clean eating this week by making a simple lentil soup for my lunches. And for balance? Well, I’m about to head to bed early with a good book. I’d say that’s a perfect way to balance out a busy weekend. Until next time, my friends!

Next morning update: on the way to work I told Peter about this post and my intention for Fall. His response was that it “sounded really new-agey” so I translated it into husband-friendly terms: I want to have a clean house, eat healthy, and not work too much. He understood that a bit better đŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

