Prepping for Winter

Confession time: I haven’t been the best gardener these last few months. Despite good intentions and lots of initial enthusiasm, I haven’t actually been over to my allotment in weeks! When I arrived today, this is what I encountered:

Completely overgrown lettuce plants, patty pan squash taking over the bed, tomatoes rotting on the vine… Oh, the guilt. I felt like I’d let my little plants down!

But, being the pragmatist that I am, I rolled up my sleeves and set to work tidying things up right away. Knowing that I won’t have much time to come back to the allotment in the next few months, I decided to clear the beds and cover them for the winter.

There are three main sections to my allotment that need attention: the patty pan squash area, the raised beds, and a space that housed potatoes earlier this summer. Today I tackled the potato patch and raised beds. Check out the finished product. Pretty snazzy, hunh?

DSC05597

I can proudly say that I’m now 2/3 of the way to ticking off another thing on the BBAL list. Just need to finish the patty pan squash area next week and say goodbye to my little plot for the year!

Leave a Reply

